Karsite Artisan

From Fax Encyclopedicus

Jump to: navigation, search
Contacting Me

I can be found on the unofficial #giantitp IRC channel on GameSurge.net.

DragoonWraith · talk · 22:34, 8 October 2010 (UTC)
DWavatar.png

Contents

KarsiteArtisan.png

Artifice is a competitive, sometimes even cutthroat, industry. House Cannith pursues research and development with a passion, and no house, nor even independent Artificers, considers gaining technological superiority to be anything but a massive advantage. New procedures, techniques, and magics are constantly being tested, researched, and experimented with, in search of even the slightest edge.

Thus, though making Pacts with the enigmas known as Vestiges is frequently frowned upon, or worse, many artificers over the years had dabbled in the discipline because of the Vestige Karsus, who could empower magic items substantially. These artificers became known as Karsite Artisans, and were rarely considered very seriously; the general consensus that they played a dangerous game for abilities not significant enough to be worth the risk.

However, that these dabblers in Pact Magic did not impress was utterly unsurprising to Jorallon Sortek, an artificer who practiced Pact Magic more seriously. Those Karsite Artisans were only just touching the surface, and Jorallon determined to set out and prove that it was so.

What ultimately earned Jorallon a place in artifice history, and brought the Karsite Artisan name out of derision, was his unique discovery of a way to bind Vestiges to magical items - conferring unique benefits to the wearer. Suddenly, this was something that the world of artifice was interested in, and these days, far from their roots, Karsitism is considered a very valid path to power.

Becoming a Karsite Artisan

Karsite Artisans bring Pact Magic to their item making. Despite their name, Karsite Artisans are not in any way singularly devoted to Karsus - he remains popular for his obviously useful powers, but many Vestiges have uses in the world of artifice. Karsus is merely the first step in the path of Vestigial artifice, and the mark of an experienced Karsite Artisan is the ability to bind Vestiges other than Karsus, and if anything Halphax is considered the ultimate Vestige in the world of artifice - though few are capable of binding him.

Prerequisites

  • Class Features
    • Artificer's Knowledge.
    • Able to bind Karsus, Hubris in the Blood.
  • Feats
    • Expel Vestige.
  • Skills
    • Knowledge (Arcana) 8 ranks.
    • Use Magic Device 8 ranks.

Class Features of the Karsite Artisan

All of the following are class features of the Karsite Artisan.

Hit Die

d6.

Skills

Skill Points per Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Skills: The Karsite Artisan's class skills (and the key ability modifier for each) are Appraise (Int), Bluff (Cha), Concentration (Con), Craft (Int), Decipher Script (Int), Disable Device (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Gather Information (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (Arcana) (Int), Knowledge (Architecture & Engineering) (Int), Knowledge (History) (Int), Knowledge (Religion) (Int), Knowledge (The Planes) (Int), Open Lock (Dex), Profession (Wis), Search (Int), Spellcraft (Int), and Use Magic Device (Cha).

Table 1-1: The Karsite Artisan

Level Base Attack
Bonus
Fortitude
Save
Reflex
Save
Willpower
Save
Special Soul Binding Infusions
1st +0 +2 +0 +2 Karsite Knowledge, Vestigial Infusions +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
2nd +1 +3 +0 +3 Artificial Negotiations, Rapid Pact Making +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
3rd +2 +3 +1 +3 Heavy Magic +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
4th +3 +4 +1 +4 Retain Essence +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
5th +3 +4 +1 +4 Vestigial Artifice +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
6th +4 +5 +2 +5 Bonus Feat +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
7th +5 +5 +2 +5 Spell Trigger Pact +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
8th +6 +6 +2 +6 Bonus Feat +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
9th +6 +6 +3 +6 Spell Completion Pact +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
10th +7 +7 +3 +7 Angular Artifice +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
11th +8 +7 +3 +7 +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
12th +9 +8 +4 +8 Bonus Feat +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
13th +9 +8 +4 +8 +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
14th +10 +9 +4 +9 Bonus Feat +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
15th +11 +9 +5 +9 +1 level of existing pact-making class +1 level of existing infusion-using class
Armor and Weapon Proficiencies

The Karsite Artisan does not gain proficiency in any armor or weapons.

Infusions

At each level of Karsite Artisan, the character gains new infusions per day and increases his caster level as if he had also gained a level in an infusion-using class he belonged to before adding the prestige class. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. If a character had more than one infusion-using class before becoming a Karsite Artisan, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for purposes of determining infusions per day.

Pact Magic

At each level of Karsite Artisan, the character's pact-making ability improves as if you had also gained a level in an pact-making class he belonged to before adding the prestige class. His Karsite Artisan levels stack for the purpose of determining his bonus on binding checks, the effectiveness of his vestige granted abilities, his ability to bind higher-level vestiges, and the number of vestiges he can bind. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. If a character had more than one pact-making class before becoming a Karsite Artisan, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for purposes of determining his effective binder level.

Karsite Knowledge

When bound to Karsus, a Karsite Artisan can use his Artificer's Knowledge in conjunction with Karsus's Senses - if his Artificer's Knowledge check meets a DC of 20, the Karsite Artisan learns the magical properties of the item as from Identify.

Further, levels of Karsite Artisan stack with Artificer for determining the Karsite Artisan's bonus on Artificer's Knowledge checks.

Vestigial Infusion

A Karsite Artisan can bind a Vestige to an item through the use of a series of special Infusions. These infusions are added to the Karsite Artisan's infusion list. The Karsite Artisan must both be able to use an Infusion of that level and bind a Vestige of that level to use any of these Infusions.

Table 1-2: Infuse Vestige

Infusion Infusion Level Vestige Level(s)
Infuse Least Vestige 1st 1st & 2nd
Infuse Lesser Vestige 2nd 3rd & 4th
Infuse Vestige 3rd 5th
Infuse Greater Vestige 4th 6th
Infuse Grand Vestige 5th 7th
Infuse Ultimate Vestige 6th 8th

See the infusion descriptions below for each of these infusions.

Artificial Negotiations

A Karsite Artisan primarily sees himself as in the business of bringing Vestiges to the art of magic item creation. He may bind Vestiges for special term contracts, in which the binding process does not take place in the usual 24 hours.

To negotiate a shorter term Pact, the Binder must succeed on his Binding check. Failure to do so results in a normal 24-hour Pact, with the Vestige gaining normal influence. Further, shorter Pacts require higher DCs for the Binding check, as given in Table 1-3 below.

Table 1-3: Artificial Negotiations

Pact Duration DC Increase
12 hours +4
8 hours +5
6 hours +6
3 hours +8
1 hour +10

The Karsite Artisan must declare which duration Pact he is making before rolling his Binding check.

Rapid Pact Making

At 2nd level, the Karsite Artisan gains Rapid Pact Making as a bonus feat, even if he does not meet the prerequisites.

In addition, a Karsite Artisan may use his Expel Vestige and Rapid Pact Making feats a number of times per day equal to half his Class Level plus his Intelligence modifier, instead of only once per day. However, the Binding check penalty for using Expel Vestige stacks if used multiple times per day (that is, if he expels two Vestiges without making a new Pact in between, the next Binding check he makes during Pact making is at a -20 penalty instead of a -10).

Heavy Magic

At 3rd level, a Karsite Artisan retains Karsus's Heavy Magic ability even when not bound to Karsus. In addition, when the Karsite Artisan is bound to Karsus, the Heavy Magic bonus increases from +2 to +4.

Retain Essence

At 4th level, a Karsite Artisan gains Retain Essence, as the Artificer class feature.

Vestigial Artifice

At 5th level, a Karsite Artisan learns how to bind a Vestige to an item more permanently. This process is similar to enhancing an item with magic, but the Vestige will actively resist being bound. In order to work on the item, the Karsite Artisan must bind the Vestige in question, and must succeed on his Binding check to resist the Vestige's influence; a Vestige who succeeds on the Binding check will not allow itself to be bound to an item. See below for the rules for binding a Vestige to an item.

Vestigial Artifice counts as an "Item Creation Feat" for the purpose of meeting prerequisites for feats or prestige classes, and the process of binding a Vestige to an item is a normal "item creation" process for the sake of the Exceptional, Extraordinary, and Legendary Artisan feats, and similar feats or class features.

Bonus Feat

At 6th, 8th, 12th, and 14th level, the Karsite Artisan gains a free bonus Item Creation feat or Binder feat that he qualifies for.

Spell Trigger Pact

At 7th level, a Karsite Artisan may use any Vestige granted ability which requires a Standard Action or less, and affects a target, whenever he uses a Spell Trigger item (e.g. a Wand) that also affects a target. Both the Vestige granted ability and the Spell Trigger item must affect the same target. If the Vestige granted ability may only be used once every 5 rounds, using it in this manner counts for that limitation. Using this feature uses 2 charges from the Spell Trigger item, however.

Spell Completion Pact

At 9th level, a Karsite Artisan may use a Vestige granted ability and a Spell Completion item (e.g. a Scroll) at the same time, in the same manner as decribed in Spell Trigger Pact for Spell Trigger items.

Angular Artifice

When a Karsite Artisan of at least 10th level is bound to Halphax, the Angel in the Angle, he gains his choice of the Exceptional Artisan, Extraordinary Artisan, or Legendary Artisan feats. He may only select one of these feats, but he may change his selection every time he binds Halphax.

If the Karsite Artisan already has one or more of these feats, he may select that feat again; he does not, however, gain it a second time (the feats cannot be gotten more than once; see the Errata for the Eberron Campaign Setting), but instead he deducts another 25% of the current cost (in time, money, or XP) from the cost. This means he pays 56.25% of the cost of the item for that particular type of cost.

Binding a Vestige to an Item

Costs and Crafting Rules

The base cost of binding a Vestige to an item is similar to imbuing the item with a spell: treat the Vestige as a spell of a level equal to the Vestige's level, and with a Caster Level equal to the Effective Binding Level of the item. The Effective Binding Level must be at least enough to bind the Vestige in question (including the Improved Binding feat if the Karsite Artisan has it), and cannot be greater than the Karsite Artisan's own Effective Binding Level. This value is multiplied by an amount of gold pieces as given in the rules for crafting various types of items; for example, continuous items require 2,000 gp per Vestige level per Effective Binding Level.

Usually the item with a Vestige bound to it grants only one ability. If this ability is continuous (does not require an action to use), then the item must also be continuous. If the ability is not continuous, then it may be added to any item, continuous or not - if continuous, then it may be used at-will in the same manner as it might be used by one bound personally to the Vestige, otherwise the ability functions the same way a spell would function in that kind of item.

The abilities granted by the various Teeth of the Vestiges may also be added; each of these is continuous, and adds exactly the value of the Tooth itself to the base cost.

Multiple abilities granted by the Vestige may be added to an item, even if that item does not normally support adding more than one spell. The second ability costs 50% what it normally would, and each additional ability costs another 25% of the original cost. If any of the abilities is continuous, then the item and all of the other abilities must be as well. Never may more than one Vestige be bound to a single item.

The Karsite Artisan must pay half the base cost of the item, expend XP equal to 1/25th of the base cost measured in gold pieces, and the process requires 1 day for every 1,000 gp in the base cost.

Using an Item-Bound Vestige

Using an item with a Vestige continuously bound to it requires 24 hours spent attuning to the item, after which the wearer automatically enters into a Pact with the Vestige. This Pact may be ended by unequipping the item, though it need not be ended immediately upon removal of the item - as long as it is re-equipped within 24 hours, the Pact may continue. Otherwise, the Pact must be remade by undergoing the usual 24 hour attuning process. Any decisions that are made for the duration of the Pact can only be changed by ending the Pact and re-attuning to the item.

Non-continuous items do not require attuning, instead being used as normal and creating very short Pacts. Using such an item enters the user into a Pact with that Vestige for ten minutes; using an item again during this time resets the timer.

In either case, upon the beginning of such a Pact, the users must make a Binding check. For this check, they must use the item's Effective Binding Level, not their own, even if their own is higher, though they do use their own Charisma modifier. Success means the Vestige has no influence over the user; failure means the Vestige does. Neither affects the user's ability to use the item. For continuous items, a new check is necessary each day the item is in use, even though the Pact remains unabated. For non-continuous items, repeated use within the 10 minute Pact does not give a user who failed his check another opportunity to make it, but it does give a Vestige who was beaten another chance.

Because the Vestige is bound to the item, and not to the user, equipping or using such an item does not count as one of the user's bound Vestiges for the purposes of their maximum number. It does, however, count for the Special Requirements of Vestiges, unless the user has the Ignore Special Requirements feat - equipping an item that Amon is bound to will prevent the binding of Chupoclops, Eurynome, Karsus, or Leraje, for example.

For items that require having a spell on one's spell list (Spell Trigger items, for example), the requirement is changed to having that Vestige on their list of Vestiges they could bind (so a Binder could use such an item with any Vestige bound to it, while one with the Bind Vestige feat could only use an item that had Amon, Aym, Leraje, Naberius, or Ronove bound to it). Normal Use Magic Device rules do apply, however.

New Infusions

Infuse Least Vestige
Universal
Level: 1st
Components: V, S, see text
Casting Time: 1 minute (see text)
Range: Touch
Target: Magic item touched
Duration: 24 hours (see text)
Saving Throw: None (object)
Spell Resistance: No

You can bind a 1st or 2nd level Vestige to the touched magic item. Doing so requires going through the entire Pact making process, which usually requires 1 minute, though the Rapid Pact Making feat may be used to shorten this. Alternatively, you may use an Action Point to achieve the same effect without using a daily use of that feat.

You must be capable of binding the Vestige in question, including meeting its Special Requirements, if any (unless you have the Ignore Special Requirements feat), and having the ability to bind another Vestige at the time of using this Infusion. This Infusion lasts for the entire duration of the Pact, which is usually 24 hours but as a Karsite Artisan you may shorten this using your Artificial Negotiations class feature, or you may use the Expel Vestige feat on the item (doing so requires touching the item again, but does not require using another Infusion).

So long as the Pact remains in effect on the item, you are considered as being bound to the Vestige for the purposes of the number of Pacts you may make, and for meeting the Special Requirements of any further Vestiges that you may bind (for example, binding Amon to an item will make it impossible to bind Chupoclops, Eurynome, Karsus, or Leraje for the duration of the Pact unless you have the Ignore Special Requirements feat). However, you are not necessarily bound to the Vestige, and do not gain the abilities granted by the Vestige unless you wear the item yourself, or else separately bind the Vestige to yourself (which you may).

Anyone wearing the item you have bound the Vestige to will be able to use any of the Vestige's granted abilities; this does not qualify the wearer for anything that requires the ability to use these abilities, however. In addition, if you fail your Binding check when making the Pact, both you and the wearer of the item are under the influence of that Vestige for the duration of the Pact. The wearer may remove this influence by removing the item, however.

Finally, Vestiges do not like being bound to an object that cannot truly experience the world. Doing so causes you to take a -5 penalty on your next Binding check made during Pact making, as well as on your Binding check the next time you attempt to bind the Vestige in question. This penalty stacks with that from Expel Vestige.

Infuse Lesser Vestige
Level: 2nd

As Infuse Least Vestige, except as above and that you may bind 3rd or 4th level Vestiges to the touched item.

Infuse Vestige
Level: 3rd

As Infuse Least Vestige, except as above and that you may bind 5th level Vestiges to the touched item.

Infuse Greater Vestige
Level: 4th

As Infuse Least Vestige, except as above and that you may bind 6th level Vestiges to the touched item.

Infuse Grand Vestige
Level: 5th

As Infuse Least Vestige, except as above and that you may bind 7th level Vestiges to the touched item.

Infuse Ultimate Vestige
Level: 6th

As Infuse Least Vestige, except as above and that you may bind 8th level Vestiges to the touched item.

Image Credits

The image is adapted from Mishra, Artificer Prodigy by marcionix. All credit goes to him for the image.

Personal tools
Google AdSense